Under Maine law requiring radon testing in residential rental units by March 1, 2014, the test results must be disclosed to tenants, in writing, within 30 days.åÊ The disclosure form, which must be accompanied by a radon hazard statement entitled “Radon in Rental Housing. A Serious Hidden Danger to Family Health,” can be downloaded from www.maineradiationcontrol.org (follow link to the Radon section) and must be signed by the tenant. The results must also be reported to DHHS; a reporting form, as well as a list of frequently asked questions, is also available through the Maine Radiation Control website.
Tenants do have the option of testing their unit for radon themselves; if the tenant does a radon test, the landlord may not retaliate against them. The tenant must provide a copy of the test results to the landlord within 30 days. If the test results show high radon levels (defined as 4.0 pCi/l or higher), the landlord has the option of accepting the tenant’s test results, and disclose these results on the disclosure form, or can hire a registered radon tester to re-test the unit. The landlord personally cannot re-test the unit once the tenant has tested it.